Unicode is a universal character encoding standard that assigns a unique number (called a code point) to each character in every writing system in the world.

It was created as a standardized way to represent text in a way that is consistent across different platforms, languages, and regions.

Unicode includes more than 130,000 characters from over 100 scripts, including :

  • the Latin alphabet,

  • Greek,

  • Cyrillic,

  • Hebrew,

  • Arabic,

  • Chinese,

  • Japanese,

  • Korean,

  • and many others.

It also includes symbols, emoji, and control characters used for formatting text.


Last updated